To apply for a Nevada concealed carry permit, you will first need to complete an eight hour training class approved by any Sheriff in Nevada, which will include a shooting qualification and a written test.
You then take your application with proof of training to the Sheriff’s office. They will fingerprint you and take your photo. The current fee for a new permit in Nye County is $96.25.
If you are a Nevada resident, you must apply to the Sheriff in your county of residence. If you are a nonresident you must apply in the same county where you took your training class.
The Sheriff’s office has 120 days to approve or deny your CCW application (or renewal request).Based on student comments, it appears that processing time in Nye County is running less than 60 days.
Your permit will be valid for five years from the date it is issued.
To renew a permit that has not yet expired, you must complete a four hour renewal training class before submitting your renewal request to the Sheriff who issued your permit. The fee for renewing a permit is $61.25.
Your renewed permit will be valid for five years from the date it is issued.
If your permit has expired, you still have 120 days to renew it, (four hour training class, $61.25 renewal fee) with the addition of a $15 late fee.
If your permit has expired for more than 120 days, you will have to complete the whole permit process again, i.e., take the eight hour CCW class and pay the full $96.25 initial application fee.
Our advice would be to submit your renewal application two to three months before expiration to be certain of getting your new permit before your current permit expires. Remember that if your permit expires, you cannot lawfully carry concealed until you receive your new permit.
You are not eligible for a permit to carry a concealed firearm if any of the following apply to you:
1. If you are not at least 21 years of age.
2. If you fail to provide the required documentation showing competency with a firearm.
3. If you are a fugitive from justice.
4. If you have judicially declared incompetent or insane.
5. If you have been admitted to a mental health facility.
6. If you have habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that
your faculties are impaired.
7. If you have been convicted of a crime involving the use, or threatened use, of force or
violence, including misdemeanors, within the last three years.
8. If you have been convicted of a felony.
9. If you have been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are
currently subject to a restraining or protective order against violence.
10. If you are currently on parole or probation.
11. If you have been, within the preceding five years, subject to any requirement imposed by
a court as a condition to:
a. Withholding the entry of judgment for a felony conviction;
b. Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony, or;
c. Indictment by a Grand Jury for any crime.
12. If you have made a false statement on your application or any part thereof.
13. If you were dishonorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces.
14. If you are in the United States unlawfully.
15. If you are prohibited from possession a firearm under any federal, state, county or city
16. If you are not a US Citizen or permanent resident.